A New Game Plan

Posted on September 13, 2011

1


epic d20

I have to admit I’m a pretty lazy gamer.  There I said it.

I sit back and let my more socially-apt gamers do the speaking parts and play the political game with the GM.  I let myself fall into the trap of inaction until there’s combat.  I’ve become more the observant meta-gamer (you know, the one offering funny quips and one-liners out of character) who’s only actions are the point-and-shoot kind.

I’m Obi-Wan in this comic:

To be fair, I’m not as bad as I think I am.  I do still force myself to get out of the shell and engage.  But there are times (more often than not) when I’m not in the right frame of mind and the brain becomes mush.  Insert the story of the socially awkward here.

My social awkwardness more than anything is what turned me to writing.  And it’s my passion in writing that turned me to gaming.

When I read this blog post reinforcing why writers should participate in RPG’s, those little guilt monkeys over my poor gaming habits plopped back atop my shoulders.

So here’s the game plan:

  • Take more notes and be more aware of the goings-on rather than what I can say to be funny (heh, that’ll be difficult).
  • Reintroduce myself to my characters and actually RP their responses in character vs. a discussion with the GM out of character.
  • Really get into the story instead of the just the combat.  Ask why I’m pew pew’ing the crazy person instead of killing just to kill (hey, look just because he’s a demon doesn’t mean he doesn’t have feelings too, right?).
One of our fellow players goes so far as to email the group a recap of the prior adventure in his own hilarious rendition.  This endeavor will be reflected upon as I think of (devious) ways to publish them…
If I was really talented, I would put together something very much like this awesome gaming webcomic: DarthsandDroids.net.  Barring that, I think I can post up a quick gaming mash-up with adventure highlights once a week.

 

 

