Happy Hump Day – A Geeky Board Game

Posted on August 10, 2011

0


Hello Cthulhu

I sincerely apologize for not posting in a while.  While it may not be a good enough excuse, the reason for my absence is due to what some may call fatigue.  I hesitate to even use that term since it hasn’t yet been confirmed by my doctor. Yet knowing I have sleep apnea and not having any physical exercise, it’s pretty clear I’m suffering from fatigue.  This doesn’t allow me enough brain power to function at work let alone at home when I should be writing – both blogs and my fiction.

I’m happy to announce I’m doing much better.  Even more exciting is my bowling league has begun a new season and I’ve caught the fever.  It’s taking me all I have to not go to a bowling alley after work and practice fifty games in a row.  The lack of money plays a part in that. Heh.

This past weekend, a fellow gaming buddy and my husband took a trip to Madness Games and picked up a very awesome board game.  All I knew was they were going to shop for another game to add to our current board game collection.  A collection that consists of mostly Hasbro games: Life, Clue (the Simpsons version), Trivial Pursuit, Yatzee, etc…  But when they came home, I was in for a surprise.  My not-so-inner geek practically squealed with delight.

Behold, the board game of Awesome:

Folks, this is not your ordinary, everyday board game.  That’s right!  It’s a Geek Board Game (capitalized for emphasis on the awesomeness).

The year is 1926, and it is the height of the Roaring Twenties. Flappers dance till dawn in smoke-filled speakeasies drinking alcohol supplied by rum runners and the mob. It’s a celebration to end all celebrations in the aftermath of the war to end all wars.
Yet a dark shadow grows in the city of Arkham. Alien entities known as Ancient Ones lurk in the emptiness beyond space and time, writhing at the gates between worlds. These gates have begun to open and must be closed before the Ancient Ones make our world their ruined domination.
Only a handful of investigators stand against theArkham HorrorWill they Prevail?

I most definitely recommend this game.  Admittedly, the rule system is a bit on the complicated side.  My only recommendation is to prep first by taking the time to read the lengthy rule booklet (about 20 pages long!) first before just jumping right in.  My husband and I played a game together afterwards just to get the rules down.

I’ve also found they have come out with an expansion or two to keep things new and fresh.  I personally love the different characters in the game and the challenge with staying on top of the monsters and portals that beset Arkham during game play.

