Happy Hump Day – National Embrace Your Inner Geek Day

Posted on July 13, 2011

0


Inner Geek

This is what awaited me this morning when I stumbled in the office:

20110713-085614.jpg

Clearly I’m not the only one in need of some coffee!

I went to bed last night to the sounds of the upstairs neighbor clamoring about with heavy feet. There was a particular sound like he/she was dragging something across the floor. It confused me because the sound was similar to dragging a heavy box across wooden floors. We have carpeted floors in every room except the bath and kitchen. I went to sleep while pondering over what my neighbor was up to and awoke the next morning to something that sounded like liquid dripping onto a soft surface.

My brain immediately flashed back to my mystery neighbor upstairs and wondered if there was a murder. The sound I was hearing was very much like blood dripping from the ceiling to land on my bed below. My eyes tracked the ceiling above. Nothing. I turned to the source of the slopping sound.

It was my dog. She was in the middle of a puppy dream and obviously enjoying some delectable treat in her sleep.

I’ve been watching way too many murder mystery shows.

Today I learned is National Embrace Your Inner Geek Day.

It gives all you normals out there a Get Out Of Jail Free card for the day to explore some of the fun we geeks have been enjoying for years. If this task seems a bit overwhelming, let me offer up a few suggestions to get you on your way.

I really could overwhelm you with more geeky-fun suggestions, but I don’t want to scare you so I’ll stop there. If you are looking for some true geek cred, you may make a note of your geek achievements in the comments below.

Now go out and enjoy being a geek!

